

Media Contact

Kathleen Rakestraw American School Counselor Association (703) 683-2722 krakestraw@schoolcounselor.org

For immediate release – April 7, 2022

American School Counselor Association Announces 2022 RAMP Schools

ALEXANDRIA, VA. – This year, 69 schools in 19 states received the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation. These schools will be honored during a special ceremony at the American School Counselor Association's Annual Conference for making an exemplary commitment to their school counseling programs.

The RAMP designation, awarded for aligning with the criteria in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools committed to delivering a comprehensive, data-informed school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Since the program's inception, nearly 1,200 schools have been designated as RAMP recipients.

This year, Virginia leads the number of RAMP designations, with 10 schools in the state receiving the honor. Thirteen schools, in California, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Minnesota, Pennsylvania and Virginia, will receive the RAMP School of Distinction award, honoring schools with exceptionally high-caliber school counseling programs based on rankings determined by a panel of RAMP reviewers. RAMP-designated schools are now in 47 states across the country. The RAMP designation is good for five years, after which time schools must reapply to maintain their RAMP status. This year 21 schools earned Re-RAMP status.

"This year's RAMP honorees have shown their commitment to students and the school counseling profession," said Jill Cook, ASCA executive director. "These schools used data to drive their program development and implementation so all students can achieve success. RAMP designation distinguishes these schools and encourages school counselors nationwide to strive for excellence."

The 2022 RAMP schools are:

Alabama

Daphne Middle School E.R. Dickson Elementary School Hillcrest High School J. Larry Newton School Malachi Wilkerson Middle School

California

Desert Willow F.A.S.T. Magnet Academy Greenfield Middle School Los Amigos Dual Immersion School Palmdale Learning Plaza – Middle Years Programme (School of Distinction) Patrick Henry High School Riverside Polytechnic High School (Re-RAMP)

Colorado

Jenkins Middle School Rocky Top Middle School

Tesoro High School

Delaware

South Dover Elementary School

Florida

Indian River Academy

Georgia

Chapel Hill Middle School (School of Distinction)
Duluth High School (Re-RAMP)
Fairplay Middle School (School of Distinction)
Hart County Middle School
Hightower Trail Middle School (Re-RAMP)
Holly Springs Elementary School (School of Distinction)
Kemp Elementary School (Re-RAMP) (School of Distinction)
Smyrna Elementary School (Re-RAMP) (School of Distinction)
South Cobb High School (Re-RAMP)
Woodland Middle School

Hawaii

Ka'imiloa Elementary School Mokapu Elementary School Nānākuli Elementary School (Re-RAMP) (School of Distinction) Nānākuli High & Intermediate School (Re-RAMP) (School of Distinction)

Illinois

A.N. Pritzker School
Crystal Lake South High School (Re-RAMP)
Dr. Martin Luther King Academy of Social Justice
Rich Township High School
Von Steuben Metropolitan Science Center (Re-RAMP)
Wendell Phillips Academy High School (Re-RAMP)
West Park STEAM Academy

Indiana

Cynthia Heights Elementary School (School of Distinction) Kokomo High School Lodge Community School (School of Distinction) Oak Hill Elementary School

Kentucky

Atherton High School Campbell Ridge Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Crossroads Elementary School (Re-RAMP) Grant's Lick Elementary School (Re-RAMP)

Minnesota

Farnsworth Aerospace PreK-4 Lower Campus (School of Distinction) Osseo Senior High School

Missouri

Adrian Elementary School Congress Middle School Platte County High School Walden Middle School

North Carolina

Fuquay-Varina High School (Re-RAMP) Oak Grove High School

Pennsylvania

Burchfield Primary School (School of Distinction)

South Carolina

Pelion Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Tennessee

Houston Middle School (Re-RAMP)

Texas

Chester E. Jordan Elementary School Sgt. Roberto Ituarte Elementary School

Utah

South Davis Jr. High School

Virginia

Alexandria City High School
C.A. Sinclair Elementary School (Re-RAMP)
Harry E. James Elementary School
Hayfield Middle School (Re-RAMP)
Henry David Thoreau Middle School (Re-RAMP)
Kersey Creek Elementary School (Re-RAMP)
Minnieville Elementary School
Oakton High School (Re-RAMP)
Walt Whitman Middle School
West Potomac High School (School of Distinction)

RAMP applications are reviewed once a year by a panel of school counseling professionals, who assess the school counseling programs in 10 different areas of expertise. The next submission deadline is Oct. 15, 2022. For more information on the program, visit www.schoolcounselor.org/ramp

About the American School Counselor Association

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) professional organization based in Alexandria, Va. ASCA promotes student success by expanding the image and influence of school counseling through leadership, advocacy, collaboration and systemic change. ASCA helps school counselors guide their students toward academic achievement, career planning and social/emotional development to help today's students become tomorrow's productive, contributing members of society. Founded in 1952, ASCA has a network of 51 state and territory associations and a membership of approximately 43,000 school counseling professionals. For additional information on the American School Counselor Association, visit www.schoolcounselor.org.